## Textint Nobelpicture.

The first Nobelfestival in peace was perhaps the most beautiful and the most radiant by all that have been held since the first year 1901. It is a magnificent assembly in a splendour of decorations rarely to be seen that reverently greats the king of Sweden, when he makes his entrance at the head of nearly his whole house at the tunes of blaring fanfares.

And then the turn has come to the prise-winners to enter the hall. The audience salutes them by standing up as they reach the podium, the whole glorious assembly of worldfamous representatives for literature and science, the names of which shall be handed down to pesterity as the greatest of their time. This year the winners of the Nobelprise, those of this year and those of previous years, are numerous, 13 of them. So many have never before been present.

The governor Hammarskield extends a welcome according to tradition in grave but not in the least mournful words and after him the proffesor from Uppsala, Ivar Waller, came forth to address the prise-winner in physics of the year, The American <u>Wolfgang</u> <u>Pauli</u>, who was not present in the Concerthall. The charge d affair Christian Ravnedal, fetches the prise instead of him.

Professor Arne Westergren praises the pioneering scientific research work in the department of fodder-preserve, in a speech that everybody understands and begs him to receive the prize of the year in chamistry. The king long and heartily shakes the hand of the reverently bowing prize-winner at the persistent and roaring applause of the audience.

Prefessor Goran Liljestrand ends his elegant speech in the following word. (Original award).

He has drawn the pisture of the discovery of the penicillin-beneficious to all humanity -- of the Englishmen Alexander Flowmings, Ernest Chains and Howard Floreys and asked then to receive from the hand of our king the visible proof of the admiration and gratitude of the whole world, the Nobel prize of the year in medicine and physiology. And the time thunders of applause follows them until they have reached their seats among the noticed guests of honour from different parts of the world.

And then comes the absolutely greatest moment of the evening - the moment when Gabriela Mistral comes forth. (Original sound in Spanish and Swedish)

After the elegant accomplishing phrases in sonorous Spanish and Swedish of Hjalmar Gullberg the intellectual queen of the Latin American continent - at the flourish of trampets - advances king Hustaf to receive the most dignify and the most sought for literary prise of the world.

Everybody cranes his neck and listens attentively in order not to miss one single detail in this charming scene so much long for, when one had to witness the longest and heartiest striking of hands of all times before the prise-winner makes her magnificient retreat. It is a great moment, perhaps one of the greatest in the 45 year old history of the Nobel prise. In any case it certainly is one of the most popular, and Gabriela Mistral thanks with a refreshingly and conventional gesture.

The last speaker of the evening is doctor Anders Osterling who addresses the prisewinner in literature of the previous year the Danis poet Johannes W. Jensen. There is sensiting special with Northern prise-winner - that fact is now proved again. Not immet least by the hearty congratulations and striking of hands given by the king. The audience underlines with spontaneous approval, that rears towards the last prise-winner of the evening the Dane Johannes W. Jensen

## HOTTEL

The speakers of the svening: Governor Hjalmar Hammarskield - the chairman of the Nobelfoundation.

Ivar Waller, professor in chesighry at the University of Uppenla

Arne Westergree, professor in chemistry and also the secretary of Mayal Academy

Goran Liljestrand, professor at the Karolinska Institute and also secretary

Hjalmar Gullberg, Ph. D. one of the most famous peets of Sweden, one of the Eighteen (Swedish Addemy) and head of the Swedish Hadlo Theatre.

Anders Gaterling, M.D., Swedish poet, one of the Eighteen (Swedish Academy) and the permanent secretary of the Swedish Anadamy Academy.