Box 23487

Press Office, June 20th, 1952.

DRAFT PROGRAMME FOR OPENING CEREMONY ON JULY 19th. Time Gates open for public 11.00 Gates closed 12.45 Members of the International Olympic Committee and of the 12.55 Organising Committee take their places on the arena for presentation to the President of the Republic The President of the Republic arrives on the arena, accompanied 1.00 + by the President of the International Olympic Committee and the President of the Organising Committee. The members of both committees are presented to the President. The President then takes his seat in the stand, so do the two Committees. Parade of teams in alphabetical order according to the Finnash 1.10 + names of the Nations, but Greece first and Finland last. The International Olympic Committee and the Organising Committee 2.10 form up in a semicircle facing the Tribune of Honour. Address of welcome by the President of the Organising Committee. 2.12 The President of the Republic proclaims the Games open. 2.22 2.24 Pigeons released. 1 2.26 21-gun salute. The Olympic Flame arrives and the Olympic Fire is lit on the 2.28 arena. Olympic Anthem (composed by Jaakko Linjama) performed by 2.30 massed choirs and band. Olympic Fire lit in tower. Members of I.O.C. and Organising 2.35 Committee return to their seats. The flagbearers form up by the Tribune of Honour in a semicircle. 2.37 Blessing in Latin, said by His Grace the Archbishop of Finland (Ilmari Salomies). "Suomalainen rukous" (Finnish Prayer) by Taneli Kuusisto, performed by choirs and band. The Finnish Flag is brought out to the Tribune, which is 2.40 + mounted by a Finnish athlete who pronounces the Oath. The Oath is taken. 2.41 + The Finnish National Anthem. 2.42 The flagbearers return to their places in front of their teams 2.44 The teams begin to leave. 2.45 The President of the Republic leaves. 3.15 Gates opened to public for leaving. 3.20

List of teams named on the original sheet:

G.B.; U.S.A; France; Belgium; Australia; Japan; Italy; Holland; Greece (1); Finland; Canada; Germany; U.S.S.R; Argentine; Mexico; Spain; British Colonies.