SPORTING RECORD

Sportsman of the Year Presentation

December 30, 1954.

Savoy Hotel, 7.30 p.m.

The Presentation follows the national ballot organised every year by Sporting Record, the first national poll being in 1946. Votes this year have been received from all over Britain and from many places abroad, among them the U.S.A., Germany, the Middle East, Malta, Gibraltar, Belgium and Malaya.

The sportsman heading the poll receives the "Sportsman of the Year" trophy, while the "Sportswoman of the Year" trophy is awarded to the sportswoman obtaining most votes in the ballot. Last year's recipients were Gordon Pirie and Pat Smythe.

The actual leaders in the poll this year will not be announced until the time of the presentation at 8.23. The presentations are being made by Lord Brabazon of Tara.

Lord Brabazon will be introduced by Mr. H.C. Drayton, Chairman of Sporting Record, and Lord Brabazon will announce the elected sportsman and sportswoman in his opening remarks, when he will introduce them to the company. They will each make a short reply.

A list of acceptances to the Presentation ceremony is attached.

The Presentation besides being televised der the B.B.C.'s Sportsview, is being recorded by Radio Newsreel and will be broadcast in the General Overseas and European services of the B.B.C.

Before the presentation of the Sporting Record national trophies the TV award for the outstanding sporting personality of the year will be handed over to the winner by Peter Dimmock, head of Outside Broadcasts, Television. SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR PRESENTATION, 30. 12. 54.

Acceptances have been received from . . . Rock. I. UP. TD. (D) Il-GINBERE, MARDING 12. COMMMR. PARKel Col. H.M. Llewellyn John Harris 13 -Roger Bannister June Paul -Chris Chataway Horace Lindrum Stanley Matthews John Savidge Geoff Duke Sam Bartram 17-Stirling Moss Tom, Whittaker 2-Pat Smythe Doug Insole AR | -Das Rees with Signer Smith. Wally Barnes Johnny Sullivan Matt Busby Eileen Sheridan Jacqueline Gordon 4 Gordon Pirie Tommy Price 2 Jim Peters Barrington Dalby 14-Yvonne Sugden E.B.A. Fenton 9 -Jean Desforges L.B. Fishlock 5 - Don Cockell Brian Hewson · Sidney Smith Angela Buxton Johnny Leach 5-Sydney Wooderson John Charles J.M. Seed Damy Blanchflower Cyril Tolley Leslie Ames Sam Burns Franz Stampfl 10-Diane Leather Stuart Surridge Alf Ramsey John Disley Pat Symons Diane Rowe Geoff Elliott Rosalind Rowe Chris Brasher 16 -Freddie Mills Mills Jack Young Bruce Woodcock Derek Ufton Nim Hall Bill Nankeville 7 TRUNFORD 8 - BRABAZON.

Chris & Valerie Winn E.H. 'Patsy' Hendren C. Hewitt Shirley Hampton Shirley Cawley Sylvia Cheeseman Ann Long Helen Yate Stan Cox Henry Longhurst Dorothy Tyler Peter Fryer

Anne Pashley Jim Laker Bill Kitchen Arthur Green Arthur Rowe Jim Sims John Parlett Ann Johnson Trevor Ford Peter Driver Janet Morgan Ken Gregory

Also from:

Rt. Hon. Iain Macleod, M.P. Viscount Hall Rt.Hon. Hilary Marquand, M.P. Lt.Commdr. Michael Parker F.P. Buckley (Agent-General, N.S.W.) R.W.V. Robins Vice-Admiral H.G. Norman, C.B., C.B.E. Sir John Sargent Commander Sir Hugh Dawson Brian George Charles Max-Muller Kenneth Adam Sir Clarence Sadd W.E. Butlin Sir Arthur Porritt Sir Sidney Abrahams Sir Adolphe Abrahams Sir Leslie Bowker Sir Ronald Ross S.C. Griffith Sir Stanley Rous Judge Aarvold Eamonn Andrews Gilbert Harding Sir Eric von Bibra Raymond Glenderning Petula Clark Eunice Gayson

- 2 -