INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION CONFERENCE

London, September 12-19

The A.

Press Notice No. 1

/ The United

Flags of forty-six nations will fly in Parliament Square on Thursday, September 12th when the 46th Conference of the Inter-Parliamentary Union is officially opened in Westminster Hall by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth. This is the highest number of National Groups ever to be represented at a Conference of the Union; it may be further increased by the admission of several new National Groups, whose applications for membership will be examined by the Executive Committee and Council of the Union. The British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, whose Chairman is Colonel Sir Malcolm Stoddart-Soott, M.P., are hosts to the Conference.

Nations whose acceptances have been received so far are: Albania, United States of America, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Ceylon, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Federal Republic of Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Immel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Rumania, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Yugoslavia. Altogether 465 delegates accompanied by 208 wives are expected.

Members will have before them a report from the Secretary General of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, M. Andre de Blonay, on the world political situation. This report will be the subject of a general debate. Following this, three main questions will be discussed, the refugee problem, the influence of, and control by, Parliament over the Government, and the Stabilization of prices of primary products. Resolutions on these three topics will be voted on during the final sessions of the Conference and member Groups undertake to bring these resolutions to the notice of their own Parliaments.

Eight Speakers (Presidents) of either Upper or Lower Houses of National Parliaments will be present in London as leaders or members of their respective delegations. Included are: Mr. K.A. Fagerholm (Finland), Mr. Constanting Rodopoulos (Greece), Mr. Sandor Ronai (Hungary), Professor Giovanni Leone (Italy), Mr. Emile Reuter (Luxembourg), Dr. Joseph Condrau and Dr. Kurt Schoch (Switzerland), and General Phra Prachompachanuk (Thailand). The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Mr. Auguste Lindt, will also be present at the London meeting.

- 2 -

The inaugural ceremony which will take place in Westminster Hall on Thursday, September 12, at 11 a,m., will be addressed by Her Majesty The Queen. Viscount Stansgate, President of the Council of the Inter-Parliamentary Union will preside and the Prime Minister, Mr. Harold Macmillan, will also speak. Sir Winston Churchill has sent the Conference a special message of greeting.

A Ladies' Committee, headed by Viscountess Davidson has arranged a special programme of events for the wives of delegates, including tea on the terrace of the House of Commons with Viscountess Stansgate, a luncheon given by Lady Stoddart-Scott, and a fashion show at the Royal Festival Hall at the invitation of the Marchioness of Cholmondeley.

Official entertainments include a reception for heads of delegations in the Speakers' House, in the presence of Her Majesty The Queen, a reception by the Lord Chancellor and the Speaker in the House of Lords, an evening party given by the Government for delegates and their wives in St. James' Palace, a reception at the Guildhall by the Lord Mayor and the Aldermen of the City of London and a concert in the Royal Festival Hall when Sir Adrian Boult will conduct the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

The Inter-Parliamentary Union, which was founded in 1889, is composed of forty-nine National Groups.

1 2 1.

The Inter-Parliamentary Council which is the governing body of the organization consists of two members designed by each Group. Its President is the Rt. Hon. Viscount Stansgate, P.C., who will preside at the opening session until the Conference elects its own President.

The Executive Committee of the Union is at present composed of : The President of the Council <u>ex officio</u>, Mr. S. Braga (Brazil), Mr. R.G. Senanayake (Ceylon), Mr. L. Heljas (Finland), Mr. I. Mulla (Iraq), Prof. G. Codacci-Pisanelli (Italy), Mr. E. Boerlin (Switzerland), General Phra Prachompachanuk (Thailand) and Mr. N.A. Mikhailov (USSR). Each member of the Committee holds office for four years.

. (append

The Executive Committee will meet in the Palace of Westminster on September 10th and the Council on September 11th.

:0 £ .. 1

PRESS OFFICE,

INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION, WHITEHALL 6244. EXT. 342

46th Conference of the Inter-Parliamentary Union

Provisional Timetable

Westminster Hall Thursday, Sept. 12

Church House

11 a.m. Inaugural ceremony

2.30 p.m. Opening of the Conference by the President of the Inter-Parliamentary Council, Lord Stansgate.

Message from the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Election of the President and the Vice-Presidents

3 p.m. Opening of the General Debate.

3 p.m. General Debate (conclusion).

10 a.m. General Debate (continuation).

10 a.m. The Refugee Problem.

conclusion).

Friday, Sept. 13

U. 4.

. List & when here ?

. ...

Saturday, Sept. 14

Monday, Sept. 16

to Loradio March

Tuesday, Sept. 17

Wednesday, Sept. 18

Thursday, Sept. 19

10 a.m. The Influence of and Control by Parliament over the Government.

3 p.m. The Refugee Problem (continuation and "

3 p.m. The Influence of and Control by Parliament over the Government (continuation).

11.15 a.m. The Influence of and Control by Parliament over the Government (continuation and conclusion).

3 p.m. The Stabilization of Prices of Primary Products.

10 a.m. The Stabilization of Prices of Primary Products (continuation and conclusion).

10 a.m. Reports of the Study Committees and votes on the draft resolutions concerning

- a) The Refugee Problem
- b) The Influence of and Control by Parliament over the Government
- c) The Stabilization of Prices of Primary Products

11.30 a.m. Elections to the Executive Committee

3 p.m. Communication relating to the composition of the Inter-Parliamentary Council for the period from the 46th to the 47th Conference.

Closure of the Conference.

FACILITIES FOR THE PRESS

Journalists who are regularly accredited press correspondents will be supplied with press cards entitling them to admission to all public sessions of the 46th Conference of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. The first session will take place on Thursday, September 12th at 2.30 p.m. in Church House, Westminster.

(Admission to the Inaugural Ceremony on Thursday, September 12th at 11 a.m. in Westminster Hall, at which the Queen will open the Conference, is by Buckingham Palace rota.)

Accredited press photographers will receive special passes enabling them to take photographs in Church House only, at the opening and close of all sessions. No photographers will be allowed to remain on the floor of the conference chamber during sessions.

A special press briefing will be given by the President of the Council, Viscount Stansgate, and the Secretary General of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, M. André de Blonay, on Wednesday, September 11th, at 6 p.m. in the Convocation Hall, Church House.

Application for press cards should be made to the Conference Press Officer, Mrs. S. Alexander, Inter-Parliamentary Union, House of Commons (WHItehall 6240, Ex. 342). From September 10th the offices of the Conference will be in Church House (ABBey 6771). Mrs. Alexander will be available in Church House on Wednesday afternoon for the issuing of press cards.

Daily summaries of the debate will be available in English and French and in addition there will be regular releases in both languages to the press.