PRESS RELEASE



R.A.C. NEWS



FROM THE RAC PRESS OFFICE . WHItehall 4343 Ext 106,107 & 109

Over 60 Years of Service to The Motorist and The Nation

April 4th, 1961

FROM PILOT TO PILOT Lord Brabazon Presents Segrave Trophy

Pioneer aviator and racing motorist, Lord Brabazon of Tara, today presented the Segrave Trophy for 1960 to test-pilot Tom Brooke-Smith at the Royal Automobile Club.

The trophy, which preserves the memory of the late Sir Henry Segrave, is awarded to the British subject who accomplishes the most outstanding demonstration of the possibilities of transport by land, air or water.

The citation for Mr. Brooke-Smith reads, "For outstanding flight test work during the development of the Short SC.1, culminating in its demonstration during 1960 of transition from vertical to horizontal flight. It was the first British direct-lift jet aircraft to accomplish this feat, which is of the greatest importance to the future development of vertical take-off military and civil aircraft".

Lord Brabazon, who is Vice-President of the Royal Automobile Club, was England's first aviator, holding the No.1 certificate granted by the Royal Aero Club. In 1909, he won the Daily Mail £1,000 prize for flying a circular mile in an all-English-made machine.

PRESS RELEASE



R.A.C. NEWS



FROM THE R.A.C PRESS OFFICE . WHItehall 4343 Ext 106,107 & 109

Over 60 Years of Service to The Motorist and The Nation

SEGRAVE TROPHY 1960

Thomas William Brooke-Smith

Age 42.

Born Lincolnshire.

Married: one son, one daughter.

Educated Bedford.

Now lives at Bentley, near Farnham, Surrey.

Learned to fly at Brooklands before the war.

Spent the war as a test pilot. Was appointed Chief Test Pilot to Shorts in 1948, responsible for all experimental work. When work started on

the SC l six years ago, "thought it would be a

good aircraft to bow out on". When he climbed

out of the cockpit on the Sunday of the last Farnborough Air Show, it marked the end of his

active career as a test pilot.

He plans to stay active in the flying world and has formed his own company.

PRESS RELEASE



R.A.C. NE



FROM THE RAC PRESS OFFICE . WHItehall 4343 Ext 106,107 & 109

ver 60 Years of Service to The Motorist and The Nation

WINNERS OF THE SEGRAVE TROPHY

1930: Air Commodore Sir Charles Kingsford-Smith

Squadron-Leader H.J.L. Hinkler, A.F.C., D.S.M. 1931:

1932: Mrs. J.A. Mollison

1933: Captain Sir Malcolm Campbell, M.B.E.

1934: Mr. K.H. Waller

1935: Captain G.E.T. Eyston, O.B.E., M.C.

1936: Miss Jean Batten

1937: Flying-Officer A.E. Clouston

1938: Major A.T. Goldie Gardner

1939: Captain Sir Malcolm Campbell, M.B.E.

1940-45: Not awarded

1946: Mr. Geoffrey Raoul de Havilland, O.B.E.

1947: Mr. John Rhodes Cobb

1948: Mr. John Douglas Derry, D.F..C.

1949-50: Not awarded

1951: Mr. Geoffrey Duke

1952: Not awarded

1953: Squadron-Leader Neville Duke, D.S.O., O.B.E.,

D.F.C., A.F.C.

1954: Not awarded

1955: Mr. Donald Campbell

1956: Mr. Peter Twiss

1957: Mr. Stirling Moss

1958: Mr. Donald Campbell

1959: Not awarded

1960: Mr. Tom Brooke-Smith