#### NATIONAL INTER-CENTRE TEAM SCRAMBLE

#### CHAMPIONSHIP

## For the "Daily Herald" Challenge Trophy

Thirteen teams representing motor-cycle Centres throughout the country line-up for the National Inter-Centre Team Scramble Championship of 1961.

Organised by Redditch Motor Cycle and Car Club and sponsored by the "Daily Herald", this end-of-season championship brings together the cream of Britain's rough-track aces.

Southern Centre are the present holders of the championship trophy and title. But there is a strong challenge from several teams in this year's event, any one of which could win through.

There are 20 Centres, each of which incorporates several counties, and the Inter-Centre Scramble is a competative event between these Centres.

Each Centre has a team of four riders. There will be two 10-lap races with the four members of each team riding in both races. Points will be awarded to riders as they finish on a descending scale and the team with the highest aggregate number of points at the end of both races will be presented with the "Daily Herald" Challenge Trophy.

A tie on points will be decided in the following priority: (a) In favour of the team with the greatest number of finishers in both races. (b) In the case of more than one team having the same number, the team completing the greatest number of laps over the two races. (c) In favour of the team with the lowest aggregate time in both races.

Rollswood Farm offers splendid spectator vantage points and the rough-track itself is 1½ miles long. Features include stream crossing, woodland tracks, rocks to avoid, steep gradient and fast open grassland where high speeds can be reached.

Beside the championship events there will be a full programme of supporting races.

# TEAMS RACING IN THE INTER-CENTRE CHAMPIONSHIP FOR THE "DAILY HERALD" CHALLENGE TROPHY

SOUTHERN CENTRE (Berks., Hants., Dorset and South Wilts)

## Championship title holders

Don Rickman
Derek Rickman
I.J. England
R. Stillo
R. Snoad (Reserve)

MIDLAND CENTRE (Shropshire, Staffs., Warwicks., North Worcs. and parts of Flint and North Glos)

John Burton
Ernie Greer
John Harris
Ken Sedgeley
Brian Martin (Reserve)

SOUTH MIDLAND CENTRE (Northants., Hunts., Cambs., Beds., Oxford, Bucks., Herts. and Middlesex)

Dave Curtis Fred Mayes Joe Johnson W.R.Curtis

EASTERN CENTRE (Essex, Norfolk and Suffolk)

Dave Bickers
J. Aim
J. Hubbard
Barry Greep
J.E. Ford (Reserve)

SOUTH EASTERN CENTRE (Kent, Surrey and Sussex)

Vic Eastwood
Harry Cheshire
John McClenaghan
B. Leask
Ian Horsell (Reserve)

## SOUTH WESTERN CENTRE (Devon and South Somerset)

- T. Cox
- B. Slee
- B. Goss
- B. Singleton

## NORTH WESTERN CENTRE (Lancashire except Furness Area)

R. Kyffin

B. Ingham

D. Clegg

Alan Knapkin

## CHESHIRE CENTRE (Cheshire, Flint, Denbigh, Carnarvon, Merioneth, Montgomery, Anglesey)

Frank Yarwood Ted Shaw Alan Bostock John Victor Griffiths

## WESTERN CENTRE (Hereford, North Glos. and South Worcs)

Roy King T.P.S. Beeman W. Jackson John Draper M.G. Davis (Reserve) M. Smith (Reserve)

## YORKSHIRE CENTRE

Gordon Blakeway Ron Tate D. Battye R. Fairborn

#### CORNWALL CENTRE

Roger White Allan Clift D. Orchard D. Paul

WESSEX CENTRE (North Somerset, South Glos. and North Wilts)

Frank Underwood
Ken Messenger
R. Cox
P. Stirland
M.C. Griffiths (Reserve)
G.T. Wiggins (Reserve)

WEST-SOUTH WALES CENTRE (Pembroke, Carmarthen, Brecknock, West Glam)

Bill Gwynne
D. Atkins
G.V. Thomas
Irwel Lloyd
P. Atkinson (Reserve)
J. Perrey (Reserve)